Kenji Wu: Poems For You

With the latest album – “Poems For You”, Kenji turns into a poet, a rebellious student (he sure looks like it), learns to play piano and writing poems for the girl he had a crush on…

“Poems For You” (Wei Ni Xie Shi) starts with a “twinkle twinkle little star” verse, and turns into a sweet, fast-tempo, yet romantic pop song. Easily the kind of song that tops the chart.

“Holding Hands” (Qian Qian Qian Shou) is the only true sentimental song of the album. The usual dose of romance but totally irresitable.

“My Biography” (Wo De Zhi Zhuan) is the song you normally want to skip,but after a few listening, you couldn’t stop listening to it. It’s a very slow rap about the journey of Kenji Wu. It sounds really different and somehow I love it.

The final track, “Couldn’t Close My Eyes” (Yan Jin Bi Bu Zhao) is written for a fans, who is also a cancer patient. Kenji uses the post rock style to instill love and hope: “let’s sing this song together..”.

Like always, Kenji takes on the task of composing every single songs of the album, including lyrics. This time, he injects more sentimental elements, while not losing his usual playful, witty and naughty style of music. The results? The album ranks no.1 in the sales chart for 7 consecutives weeks. Half of the tracks (five songs) from the same album also ranked in the top 10 in KTV chains for the “most song requests” (which breaks a record). Crowd loves it.

I have to say, I’m deeply impressed with Kenji’s unlimited source of inspiration (his creative juice just doesn’t seemed to run out), and surprise us once again. “Poems For You” simply rocks. It’s an album you couldn’t missed – and will stay in your playlist for years to come.

Track Listing:
1. Poems For You (Wei Ni Xie Shi)
2. Holding Hands (Qian Qian Qian Shou)
3. Valentines (Qing Ren Jie)
4. What Things (Shen Me Dong Xi)
5. Love is getting harder (Yue Ai Yue Nan Guo)
6. Music Let Me Says (Yin Yue Rang Wo Shuo)
7. I Don’t Care (Wo Bu Guan)
8. Dong (Move)
9. My Biography (Wo De Zhi Zhuan)
10. Couldn’t Close My Eyes (Yan Jin Bu Bi Zao)

p/s: My review since waaaaaaaaaaaay back. Cheers!